Man Crush of the Week: Blake Griffin

 

You can't get dunked on much worse than this.

One of the drawbacks of being out of the USA for six weeks was not being able to see the NBA. Understandably, when I got back to Toronto I went nuts watching every NBA game I could find on the Rogers Satellite Dish. Unfortunately I was treated mostly to Toronto Raptors action (the promos for games literally feature Sonny Weems and Ed Davis…catch the fever!). Luckily my fiancee’s parents have NBATV and I was lucky enough to see, for the first time, a little glimpse of Los Angeles Clippers rookie Blake Griffin.

I had heard he was doing well, but the first highlights I saw were of Griffin destroying the New York Knicks. As soon as I saw that Griffin was immediately catapulted into Man-Crush consideration.

The deal was sealed last week when I went home to L.A. for Thanksgiving and actually got to see the man play live on TV. Goodness.

I keep thinking back to something I heard when he was entering the draft. Jay Bilas said he heard someone describe Griffin as “a dumptruck on a trampoline.” I’m not usually a Jay Bilas fan, but that description is pretty perfect. Then again, I guess Jay didn’t come up with it so I can still hate him. Nice.

Anyway, it’s not just the dunks for me with Griffin (although if it were just the dunks that would probably be enough), it’s the fact that he’s actually good at basketball. Too often you see guys like that who are over-hyped, but Griffin is beyond legit. Plus he looks really good as a woman.

 

Don't act like you're not thinking about it.

And with the grown-out red hair he kind of reminds me of this guy from my childhood. So Blake Griffin easily wins this week’s MCOW and I’ll leave you with a nice treat to get you through your day at work:

Leave a Reply

